top of page
  • Writer's pictureNick

A Zen Manifesto

Updated: Dec 14, 2017

I'm writing this out for me... but you can read it if you want.




I've hit a breaking point... 10 years into a career that leaves me empty. I've eaten so many feelings that...I'm not sure if I have emotions anymore. In my early 30's, over 300lbs... again, seeking something greater. Late nights at the office shoving a stale flavorless scone in my mouth that's been sitting out most of the day. So I guess this is who I am right now...


A regular guy seeking peace of mind... I have chronic heartburn from stress. I feel caught in an endless rat race with no release. I'm a skilled worker in front of a corporate ladder that I have no interest in climbing. I have become the corporate archetype from a sitcom. Except this isn't television. This is my life.

I asked my company for an extended leave. I need some time to reevaluate my situation. I'm using all my saved up personal and vacation time and they offered an additional two weeks unpaid. So that's 36 work days. I've saved my PTO for two years... and that's what I have. We'll see how this goes.


Traveling


I'm embarking on that proverbial, "Eat. Pray. Love. Trip" to kick off this journey. I'll be heading to Singapore, Cambodia, Thailand, and finishing with almost a month of Yoga in India. Here's to finding that Zen place.


I swear this isn't crazy. A lot of 300 pound guys travel to India to do yoga...

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page